Cross-border Infrastructure

Black Sea Economic Cooperation (BSEC)

The Black Sea Economic Cooperation was established in June 1992 by Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, Georgia, Greece, Moldova, Romania, Russian Federation, Turkey, and Ukraine. Serbia and Montenegro became full-fledged member in 2004. The Charter of BSEC was signed at the Yalta Summit on 5 June 1998 and ratified on 1 May 1999, transforming BSEC into a regional economic organization with an international legal identity. Cooperation areas include, among others, transport, communications, informatics, product standardization and certification, energy, mining, processing of mineral raw materials, tourism, agriculture, and agro-industries.