Money and Finance

Asia Region Funds Passport (ARFP)

The Asia Region Funds Passport (ARFP) is a region-wide initiative being led by Australia, New Zealand, Republic of Korea and Singapore. Ministers representing the governments of these economies signed a Statement of Intent on 20 September 2013 at the APEC Finance Ministers’ meeting in Nusa Dua, Bali.

In signing the statement of intent, ministers of the four economies recognise the value of creating better connections between financial markets in the Asia region and the benefits deriving from it. Ministers have signed with a view to their economies potentially becoming members of the passport upon its commencement in 2016.


The Asia Funds Region Passport (the passport) will, once implemented, provide a multilaterally agreed framework to facilitate the cross-border marketing of managed funds across participating economies in the Asia region. In the longer term, the passport could also facilitate funds from the Asian region being marketed in Europe through an Asian/European mutual recognition agreement.