AEIR 2019/2020

Cross-border Infrastructure

Brunei Darussalam-Indonesia-Malaysia-Philippines East ASEAN Growth Area (BIMP-EAGA)

Notice: Undefined variable: htm2 in /opt/rh/httpd24/root/var/www/vhosts/aricv7/content/db/db_profilepage.php on line 248

The Brunei Darussalam-Indonesia-Malaysia-Philippines East ASEAN Growth Area (BIMP-EAGA) was formed by the four Governments in March 1994 with the goal of increasing trade, investment, and tourism in the region. BIMP-EAGA consists of the entire Sultanate of Brunei Darussalam; 10 provinces on the islands of Kalimantan, Sulawesi, Maluku, and Irian Jaya in Indonesia; the states of Sabah and Sarawak and the Federal Territory of Labuan in Malaysia; and Palawan and Mindanao in the Philippines.

Transport is considered to hold the key to the future development of BIMP-EAGA, particularly in view of the sector’s central role in promoting the exchange of goods and services in the subregion.


The Asian Development Bank has been providing technical assistance to BIMP-EAGA from its inception and in 2001 was invited to be its regional development advisor.

For more information on BIMP-EAGA, please visit




Opinions and Editorials