Cross-border Infrastructure

Central Asian Regional Economic Cooperation (CAREC) Program

The Central Asian Regional Economic Cooperation (CAREC) Program is an Asian Development Bank (ADB) supported initiative which was created in 1997 to encourage economic cooperation among countries in the Central Asian region. Participating countries are Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, the People’s Republic of China, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyz Republic, Mongolia, Pakistan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan. CAREC has focused on financing infrastructure projects and improving the region’s policy environment in the priority areas of transport (especially road transport), energy (including the water-energy nexus), trade policy, and trade facilitation (especially customs cooperation).


CAREC 2030 provides the new long-term strategic framework for the program leading to 2030. It is anchored on a broader mission to connect people, policies and projects for shared and sustainable development, serving as the premier economic and social cooperation platform for the region. CAREC is an open and inclusive platform, and seeks to strengthen coordination with other international development partners and regional cooperation mechanisms active in the region.

For more information on the CAREC Program, please visithttps


Studies and Research