Cross-border Infrastructure

Secretariat of the Pacific Community (SPC)

The South Pacific Commission, as the Secretariat of the Pacific Community (SPC) was formerly known, was founded in 1947 under the Canberra Agreement by Australia, France, New Zealand, Netherlands, United Kingdom, and the United States (US), countries that administered territories in the Pacific. All 22 Pacific nations and territories (American Samoa, Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, French Polynesia, Guam, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, New Caledonia, Niue, Northern Mariana Islands, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Pitcairn Islands, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, and Wallis and Futuna) are full members, along with Australia, France, New Zealand, and the US. In 1997 the members adopted the name Pacific Community, and the organization became the Secretariat of the Pacific Community.


The SPC is a nonpolitical, technical, and research assistance body, filling a consultative and advisory role in matters affecting economic and social development, and natural resources of the region. Its work aims to develop technical assistance, professional, scientific and research support, and planning and management capability building. Programs are organized under six technical divisions: Applied Geosciences and Technology Division, Economic Development Division, Education, Training and Human Development Division, Fisheries, Aquaculture and Marine Ecosystems Division, Land Resources Division, Public Health Division, and Strategic Engagement, Policy and Planning Facility.