Regional Public Goods

Selected Regional Public Goods (RPGs) of Association of Southeast Asian Nations Plus Three (ASEAN+3) on human resources development, health, and environment

ASEAN+3 cooperation began in December 1997 and institutionalized in 1999 when the Leaders issued a Joint Statement on East Asia Cooperation at their Third ASEAN+3 Summit in Manila. The ASEAN+3 leaders expressed greater resolve and confidence in further strengthening and deepening East Asia cooperation at various levels and in various areas, including energy, transport, and information and communications technology (ICT). ASEAN agreed to strengthen partnership with the People’s Republic of China (PRC), the Republic of Korea (Korea) and Japan to address mutual issues and concerns in energy security, natural gas development, oil market studies, oil stockpiling, and renewable energy.


The Third ASEAN-PRC Transport Ministers Meeting on 24 November 2004 in Phnom Penh, Cambodia adopted the ASEAN-PRC Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) on Transport Cooperation. ASEAN and the PRC signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) on Cooperation in ICT on 8 October 2003 in Bali, Indonesia. ASEAN and the PRC reiterated their commitment on ICT cooperation in the Beijing Declaration on ASEAN-PRC ICT Cooperative Partnership for Common Development on 12 May 2005 in Beijing.

The Framework for Comprehensive Economic Partnership between ASEAN and Japan, signed in Bali in October 2003, called for ASEAN-Japan cooperation in the area of transportation and logistics. The ASEAN-Japan Plan of Action to implement the Tokyo Declaration for the Dynamic and Enduring ASEAN-Japan Partnership in the New Millennium includes activities to facilitate cooperation in the transport sector. The First Meeting of ASEAN and Japan Transport Ministers, held on 25 October 2003, endorsed the Terms of Reference for ASEAN-Japan Transport Partnership, as well as the 16 joint projects for implementation for 2003-2004.

ASEAN-Japan Commemorative Summit in December 2003 called for enhancing cooperation in energy security under the overall theme of "Consolidating the Foundation for Economic Development and Prosperity". Korea extends technical assistance in the preparation of the ASEAN Highway Fact Book and the Technical Manual for Highway Feasibility Studies under the ASEAN-ROK Preparation Studies for the ASEAN Highway Network Project. Korea has committed to fund five Initiative for ASEAN Integration (IAI) projects in infrastructure and ICT.

ASEAN+3 includes the 10 members of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Viet Nam) plus the PRC , Japan, and Korea.