Cross-border Infrastructure

Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO)

The Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) is an intergovernmental organization founded in Shanghai on 15 June 2001 by six countries, People’s Republic of China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyz Republic, Russia, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan. The main objectives of the SCO are to (i) strengthen relations among member states; (ii) promote cooperation in political affairs, economics and trade, scientific-technical, cultural, and educational spheres as well as in energy, transportation, tourism, and environmental protection; (iv) safeguard regional peace, security, and stability; and (v) create a democratic, equitable international political and economic order. With assistance from the Asian Development Bank and the United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific, SCO members have developed an intergovernmental agreement on facilitating international road transport.


A program for multilateral trade and economic cooperation, signed in September 2003, defines the basic goals and objectives for economic cooperation within the SCO framework. It also laid out priorities and achievable steps for cooperation, the free movement of goods, capital, services, and technologies over two decades. On 15 January 2004, the SCO Secretariat was established.



  • SCO 2007 Summit
    16 Aug 2007
  • 5th Negotiating Meeting on the Agreement between the Governments of the SCO Member States on Facilitation of International Road Transport
    United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific
    23 Jan 2007
  • SCO Summit
    The Shanghai Cooperation Organization
    15 Jun 2006
  • Head of Member States Summit
    5 Jul 2005