Cross-border Infrastructure

South Asia Growth Quadrangle (SAGQ)

The South Asia Growth Quadrangle (SAGQ) was launched in April 1997 by the Foreign Ministers of Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, and Nepal (BBIN). The Ninth Summit of the South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) on May 1997 in Male, Maldives endorsed SAGQ as a subregional initiative under SAARC. The goals of SAGQ are:

  • to create an enabling environment for accelerating economic growth;
  • to overcome infrastructural constraints;
  • to make optimal use of and further develop the complementarities in the subregion, and
  • to develop economic and institutional linkages and nodal points for facilitating cooperation on policy framework and project implementation.


SAGQ aims to accelerate sustainable economic development among the member countries. The targeted sectors are multimodal transportation and communication, energy, trade and investment facilitation and promotion, tourism, optimal utilization of natural resource endowments, and environment. The Asian Development Bank was invited to help in the implementation of SAGQ cooperation and responded through the South Asia Subregional Economic Cooperation (SASEC) initiative.




Studies and Research


  • 2nd Meeting of Foreign Secretaries of Bangladesh, Bhutan, India and Nepal (BBIN)
    17 Jul 1998