AEIR 2021

Cross-border Infrastructure

South Asia Subregional Economic Cooperation (SASEC) Initiative

The South Asia Subregional Economic Cooperation (SASEC) initiative commenced in 2001 at the request of the South Asian Growth Quadrangle (SAGQ) comprising Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, and Nepal (also known as BBIN). At the request of BBIN, the Asian Development Bank (ADB) provided technical assistance for implementation of subregional cooperation projects under the SASEC Program. ADB’s support to SASEC focuses on priority sectors such as transportation and communication, energy and power, tourism, environment, trade, and private sector development.

Maldives and Sri Lanka joined SASEC in May 2014, while Myanmar became a full member of SASEC in February 2017, following several years as an active observer.


For more information on the SASEC initiative, please visit


Opinions and Editorials


Studies and Research