Cross-border Infrastructure

World Tourism Organization Silk Road Project

After the independence of the Central Asian Republics, the World Tourism Organization (WTO) decided to develop a long-term project to revitalize Silk Road tourism. The Samarkand Declaration on Silk Road Tourism was adopted on 5 October 1994 by the countries joining the First International Silk Road Meeting.

There are currently 24 countries participating in the World Tourism Organization Silk Road Project: Armenia, Azerbaijan, People’s Republic of China, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Egypt, Georgia, Greece, Iran, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyz Republic, Mongolia, Pakistan, Republic of Korea, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Syrian Arab Republic, Tajikistan, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, and Uzbekistan.


The United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) also supports several activities, including the UNDP’s Silk Road Initiative.




Studies and Research