Cross-border Infrastructure

Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) Transportation Working Group (TPTWG), Energy Working Group (EWG), and Telecommunications and Information Working Group (TEL)

The Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) was established in 1989 to enhance economic growth and prosperity for the region and to strengthen the Asia-Pacific community. APEC currently has 21 member economies: Australia; Brunei Darussalam; Canada; Chile; the People’s Republic of China; Hong Kong, China; Indonesia; Japan; the Republic of Korea; Malaysia; Mexico; New Zealand; Papua New Guinea; Peru; the Philippines; Russia; Singapore; Taipei,China; Thailand; the United States; and Viet Nam.


The Transportation Working Group (TPTWG), launched in 1991, seeks to liberalize of transportation services, and enhance the safety of APEC transport systems in order to encourage economic development in the Asia-Pacific region. At the same time parallel measures are being undertaken by economies to strengthen security in all modes of transportation, namely, land, sea, and air transport.

The Energy Working Group (EWG), launched in 1990, seeks to maximize the energy sector’s contribution while mitigating the environmental effects of energy supply and use. Key EWG initiatives relate to energy security and sustainable development.

The Telecommunications and Information Working Group (TEL) was formed in 1990 and aims to improve telecommunications and information infrastructure in Asia and the Pacific region by developing and implementing appropriate telecommunications and information policies, including relevant human resource and development cooperation strategies.




Studies and Research