AEIR 2019/2020

Regional Public Goods

Mekong River Commission

The Mekong River Commission (MRC) was established on 5 April 1995 by the Agreement on the Cooperation for the Sustainable Development of the Mekong River Basin. The MRC member countries are Cambodia, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Thailand, and Viet Nam. MRC maintains regular dialogue with the People’s Republic of China and Myanmar which are the two upper states of the Mekong River Basin. Areas of cooperation include sustainable development, utilization, management and conservation of the water and related resources of the Mekong River Basin, such as navigation, flood control, fisheries, agriculture, hydropower and environmental protection.

Opinions and Editorials

Studies and Research